Conroe/Lake Conroe Chamber hosts Hail/Farewell reception for elected officials; looks ahead to annual gala

State Senator Brandon Creighton, Montgomery County Attorney B.D. Griffin, County Court at Law 2 Judge Claudia Laird, County Tax Assessor Collector Tammy McRae, Precinct 2 Constable Gene DeForest, Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace Matt Beasley, District Clerk Melisa Miller, County Treasurer Melanie Bush and State Senator Robert Nichols at the Conroe/Lake Conroe Chamber's Hail/Farewell Reception.

The Conroe/Lake Conroe Chamber of Commerce hosted their annual appreciation reception for elected officials on Dec. 9. It took place at the Conroe Tower.

“So many times people put their names on a ballot, they get elected and all we here about is a complaint because they didn’t do this or they didn’t do that, said Chamber President Brian Bondy. This is our chance to say hey, thanks very much for being an elected official. We may not always agree with what you decide, but you are willing to be a servant for the people, and deserve some recognition.”

Bondy said the first Hail/Farewell reception was held in 2017.

“Those were January events, 2017, 2018 and 2019. We’re actually having a second one this year, to get onto a regular schedule of doing them in December,” said Bondy. We’ve found that coming out of the first of the year was a bit of a challenge for not only elected officials, but also just for members of the business community to come out.”

The Chamber’s annual Chairman Awards Gala will be held Jan. 23, at the Lone Star Convention Center.

“We’ll be honoring Brent Wunderlich, who will be our outgoing board chair as of Dec. 31st,” said Bondy.

Leave a Reply